Vítězslava Kaprálová (1915 – 1940)
Three Piano Pieces, Op. 9
Grotesque Passacaglia
ed. Věroslav Němec

Cover of AM 0060

The two works by Kaprálová, included in this publication, have much in common. In October 1935, Kaprálová embarked on her studies under Vítězslav Novák at the Prague Conservatory. Her first accomplishment was Grotesque Passacaglia, a composition for piano with which the self-assured young composer entered a competition of the contemporary music journal Tempo. The work placed first in the competition, and, as a result, it was published the following year. On Novák’s advice, however, Kaprálová further revisited the score, finalizing it under the title of Scherzo Passacaglia. This revised (mainly expanded) work was included with two compositions that followed – Prelude and Crab Canon – in Three Piano Pieces, op. 9. Unlike the Grotesque Passacaglia, however, these remarkable pieces remained for a long time unpublished, and they are being made available for the first time in our edition. This project was initiated and financially assisted by the Kapralova Society.

Instrument: piano

Catalogue number: AM  0060      Price:  345 CZK

ISMN: 979-0-66057-058-6