Vítězslava Kaprálová (1915 – 1940)
Sonata Appassionata, op. 6
ed. Věroslav Němec

Cover of AM 0052

The two-movement Sonata appassionata is Kaprálová’s first major piano work. What was already obvious to those present at its premiere in 1934, has been only confirmed by time: this is a composition of exceptional quality and without doubt one of the most remarkable works of the Czech piano literature of the first half of the twentieth-century. Despite its considerable merit, the composition was not previously published. This first, critical edition was made possible thanks to the Kapralova Society, an arts organization based in Toronto, Canada.

Instrument: piano

Catalogue number: AM  0052      Price:  345 CZK

ISMN: M-66057-050-0